Friday, December 22, 2006

Funky 4 + 1 were one of the first hip-hop groups that contained a female MC and were certainly the first group of their kind that released records commercially. Further, the group were the among the first wave of Bronx crews to release records after the initial success of the Sugarhill Gang in 1979. The Funky 4 consisted of DJ Breakout, K.K. Rockwell, Keith Keith, Lil' Rodney Cee, Jazzy Jeff, and the "plus one" -- Sha Rock.

While no full-length ever was released by Funky 4 + 1, many of their singles can be found scattered on old-school hip-hop compilations.

Funky Four + 1 - Thats The Joint

1. That's The Joint
2. Rapping & Rocking The House
3. Do You Want To Rock
4. King Heroin
5. Square Biz
6. Feel It (The Mexican)
7. Super Stars
8. Do You Want To Rock (Instrumental)
9. King Heroin (Instrumental)
10. Square Biz (Instrumental)
11. That's The Joint

Download Here


The Gosub Routine said...

Cheers 4 this Kido!

(Gettin' schooled with the old OLD skool).

ohsokool said...

you can find sha-rock on myspace.

Rebel said...

I just found this link for Funky 4 plus one. Too bad the link is dead. Can you reactivate the link. This would be dope to listen to. Great Blog.